Annex countries

Groups of nations (for example, Annex 1 or Annex B) with different obligations under international climate agreements. Under the U.N. Framework Convention on Climate Change, Annex 1 countries include industrial countries and economies in transition that agreed to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions to 1990 levels collectively. Annex 2 countries are industrial countries that committed to help developing countries by providing them with technology, financial assistance, and other resources. Annex B countries have assigned emission reduction targets under the Kyoto Protocol. The category non- Annex 1 includes countries that are the most vulnerable to climate change. Some countries are included in more than one Annex.